King Khan On Why He’s Bollywood, Not Hollywood

Shah Rukh Khan spoke to S. Mitra Kalita of the Wall Street Journal on Monday to promote his new film My Name is Khan. He comes off as extremely self-aware throughout the interview.

My favorite part of the Q-&-A was when Kalita asked Khan about possibility of working in Hollywood:

So Anil Kapoor is in “24.” Aishwarya Rai was in “Pink Panther 2.” Why aren’t you in Hollywood movies?

I’ve never been asked. I’ve never been offered anything. I’m like the frog in the well. I like stories to come out of the well. I’m hopeful to make one Hindi film that’s seen by the whole world.

Maybe it’s because I’m nothing special. I’m 44. I’m brown. I don’t have Brad Pitt’s body. I have an accent. I don’t know kung fu. I don’t have an agent – I like that.

But I like that I’m the king of Bollywood.

You can read the entire interview over at WSJ.com.

2 thoughts on “King Khan On Why He’s Bollywood, Not Hollywood

Leave a Reply

