Saturday at the U.S. Open: Qureshi thrives, Bhupathi falters

I’ve always appreciated the fact that the U.S. Open is just a short train ride away from my home. I had the pleasure of attending the Open yesterday afternoon and thought I’d report back on my day.

In addition to seeing Roger Federer defeat Paul-Henri Matthieu and Maria Sharapova absolutely thrash Beatrice Capra, I also got to watch some doubles matches live for the first time.

While I was disappointed that I missed seeing the doubles pairing of Pakistan’s Aisam-Ul-Haq Qureshi and India’s Rohan Bopanna by just a day (the pair advanced to the quarterfinals Sunday after defeating French Open champions Daniel Nestor of Canada and Serbian partner Nenad Zimonjic), I did get to see Qureshi play with his mixed doubles partner Kveta Peschke of the Czech Republic as they triumphed over Russia’s Yaroslava Shvedova and Austria’s Julian Knowle.

Things didn’t go as well for India’s Mahesh Bhupathi. He and his mixed doubles partner Daniela Hantuchova of Slovakia lost in straight sets to Estonia’s Kaia Kanepi and Robert Lindstedt of Sweden.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Did anyone else attend the U.S. Open this weekend? Who did you see?

All photos by Eliot Caroom. Used with permission.

One thought on “Saturday at the U.S. Open: Qureshi thrives, Bhupathi falters

Leave a Reply

